He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not?

Posted: October 8, 2012 in Love
Tags: , , , , , ,

We all remember this one. The young woman pulling petals off the flower and thinking each time. “He loves me, He loves me not, till the last one was pulled. So what did the last one say?

This reminds me of the mindset of Christians today. When we do something good, we pull the flower petal that says “He loves me.” When we do something bad, we pull the other one that says “He loves me not.” At any given moment we could leave this earth. Oh no! What was the last petal we pulled? “He loves me not”. Then we have choice #2. We try so hard to do the right thing, only to fail and pull another He loves me not petal from the flower. At the end of the day or at the end of this life, did I get to pull one more of those good ones or bad ones?

Honestly this sounds like a Law- based approach to relating to God. Do something good and get blessed. Break the Law and get cursed. Does God really relate to us this way? For a long time, without even knowing it really, this was me. Until the day I threw up my hands and said “God trying to serve you and do what’s right is impossible. At least the world has pleasure attached to it.”

Yes its true, the world and sin are fun for a season and honestly more fun than all that religious stuff I was doing. You see it all goes back to having the right diet. I was eating from the wrong tree both times. For more on the right diet click here.

Welcome the Rose of Sharon, the flower of the New Covenant. As I began to pull petals from this flower, to my amazement they all said the same thing: HE LOVES ME. But today I messed up, I did something I know that I shouldn’t have done. When I go back to the Rose and grab my petal, to my surprise it always says “HE LOVES ME.”

Now, in no way, am I condoning sin, but at times in our lives we all fall, stumble and make mistakes. So our only hope is in Hope Himself. He is the one that walked out the perfect life. Jesus hung on a cross taking everything we deserved. His arms were wide open not folded with a snare. Today his arms are still wide open saying “I love you.”

We all, at times, I think try to impress God with our love for Him. Trying to compete with the lover of your soul is hard work. If you want to impress God only your faith in Jesus will do.

So next time you pull a petal from that flower make sure it’s from the Rose of Sharon. Put your faith in Him and watch as you turn the petal over. It will say “HE LOVES ME, HE LOVES ME, HE LOVES ME.”

Grace and Peace,

Chad

Comments
  1. judy hutchinson says:

    great job Chad. I am so proud of you!! I am so glad that he loves at all times even in the bad times. Love Mom

I value your comments leave them here.

