Who am I?

Posted: October 24, 2012 in Identity
Tags: , , , , , , ,

20121024-071420.jpg

Earlier this week I made this statement. I was taught who I was supposed to be but no one ever told me who I was.

You see growing up I had the most amazing and caring parents a young man could ever ask for. I was the son of a preacher man, the child of an angel, and you know what they always say about preachers kids; their always the worst. Yes, this really is a stereotype, but in some sense it is true.

I was always taught who I was supposed to be. Do this, do that. Act this way when company comes, and my favorite, don’t embarrass me in the community. I was a Hutchinson and this is how we do it.

Now don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with giving your child instructions on how he should act or behave. I actually encourage it because the lack of discipline in this day and age is very obvious in society.

So what am I talking about? Well, somewhere down the line when I was a child, I gave my heart to the Lord. I was always taught how to be a good Christian, but this looked a lot more like learning how to be a good Hutchinson. You know, do this, don’t do that. It really sounded more like, thou shall and thou shall not. Then if I ever forgot I could always go to the dining room where the Ten Commandments hung proudly on the wall. Now I am not bashing the Ten Commandments or the law. The Law is holy. The only problem is man by himself can not live by them. If you do all you will find is sin and death. (Romans 3:20; 2 Corinthians 3:9) When you try to live by the law it frustrates Grace. (Galatians 2:21)

So what’s the solution? We all know how we should act, so how do we do it? It all comes from your identity and letting the Holy Spirit lead you.

So, who am I in Christ?

I am God’s child. (John 1:12)

I have been justified. (Romans 5:1)

I am united with Christ. We are one in Spirit. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

I am adopted by God. (Ephesians 1:3-8)

I have been redeemed and forgiven of ALL my sins. (Colossians 1:13-14)

I am complete in Christ. (Colossians 2:9-10)

I have direct access to the thrown of Grace (Hebrews 4:14-16)

I can’t be separated from God’s love. (Romans 8:31-39)

I am God’s temple. (1 Corinthians 3:16)

I may approach God with confidence. (Ephesians 3:12)

I have received the gift of Righteousness. (Romans 5:17)

I am greatly loved by God. (Romans 1:7, Ephesians 2:4, Colossians 3:12, 1 Thessolonians 1:4)

It is not I who live, but Christ who lives in me. (Galatians 2:20)

When we know who we are and how to be lead by the Holy Spirit we will do more on accident then we could ever do on purpose. The next thing we need to learn is now to be lead by the Holy Spirit. We’ll talk about that more in another post.

To put in Chad’s english:

I’m a saint, not a sinner saved by Grace. I used to be a sinner who died with Christ and now I am a Saint! I am forgiven! For yesterday, today, and tomorrow. I am holy in Christ. My old life is gone, I am a new creation. I am loved. I am a son of the most high God.

Grace and Peace unto you,

Chad

I value your comments leave them here.