The New Covenant in a Nutshell

Posted: April 15, 2013 in Love, New Covenant, Trust
Tags: , , ,

images-4

The New Covenant in a nutshell.

Well honestly, I don’t think we can fit it in a nutshell, but I’ll try to keep this as short as I can. We all know that Jesus’s blood was the blood that forged the New Covenant.

Matt. 26:28, “This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.”

It’s all about the blood of my Savior. But what are the terms of the New Covenant? The word covenant is simply contract, and if there is a contract there must be terms to this deal. And this is were the Good News begins.

You might ask, “Why did we need a New Covenant with God if we had an Old Covenant with God?” Was something wrong with the first one? No, there was nothing wrong with the contract itself, but God had found fault with the people (Heb.8:7-8). The Law couldn’t make anyone perfect, but it left us tired and worn out trying to please God. My friends, God is much more interested in pleasing You than He is about you trying to please Him.

So the New Covenant has come. It is the Covenant that the blood of Jesus has made for us. The terms of this contract are found in Hebrews 8:10-13.

10 This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people.11 No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest. 12 For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” 13 By calling this covenant “new,” he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and aging will soon disappear.

Notice the underlines I will, I will, I will, I will. It seems God has done all the work in this new contract. So if God has done it all, if it really is finished, what is our part? Our part is trust. Trust that He is who He says He is, that He has forgiven our wickedness and our sins He remembers no more. Read that again slowly. He has forgiven our wickedness, and our sins He remembers no more. That is just plain Good News that is the what the Gospel is all about. God says “I will,” and we believe.

David said:

Romans 4:7 “Blessed are they whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. 8 Blessed is the man whose sin the Lord will never count against him.”

It is finished! The Lord is not counting, keeping track, taking score, or watching for every sin you commit. You do not have to hide from Him because of sin. Because of His forgiveness and because of His grace, we now have the ability to overcome sin by boldly approaching the throne of grace and receiving the love, mercy, and grace that is available to all who believe.

Grace and Peace,

Chad

Comments
  1. Tom Sersen says:

    Good article but you might consider seeing the difference between a covenant and contract. They are not same or interchangeable terms.

    • Hey Tom thanks for reading my blog and taking time to comment. I completely agree with you and should have explained that better but I was trying to keep it in simple terms. But the word Greek word diatheke strong’s #G1242 translated as covenant or testament is defined this way 1) a disposition, arrangement, of any sort, which one wishes to be valid, the last disposition which one makes of his earthly possessions after his death, a testament or will 2) a compact, a covenant, a testament a) God’s covenant with Noah, etc.

      Contract is defined this way: A written or spoken agreement, esp. one concerning employment, sales, or tenancy, that is intended to be enforceable by law. Synonyms noun. agreement – covenant – treaty – pact – compact

      So while yes I do agree with you it is actually a last will and testament, I was just putting it in simple terms that might make it as easy as possible to understand and for the purpose of what I was trying to get across, I felt that it was ok to interchange them.

      Thanks for keeping me on my toes.

      Grace and Peace,

      Chad

I value your comments leave them here.

